Saturday, January 5, 2013

Full Moon Trail Runs

Well, it's a marvelous night for a moondance 
With the stars up above in your eyes 

Van Morrison, Moondance, from the album Moondance
Tired of the same old, same old?  Feel a need to let loose and howl at the moon? Maybe the concrete jungle is starting to close in on you?   Then why not change it up a bit and try a Moonlight Run?

Alain Foidart of the Manitoba Trail Runners is spearheading the Full Moon Trail Run series. These runs fall on the evenings of all full moons in 2013 and will be run on different trails in Winnipeg or close to Winnipeg.  Trails may include Whittier, Assiniboine Forest, Fort Whyte Alive, Beaudry, La Barriere Park, Birds Hill Park, The Forks, Bois des Esprit, Churchill, Lyndale, and others.

All runners are welcome.  Bring a friend.  Bring your partner.  Make an evening of it! We'll travel in a pack like the wolves hiding behind the trees... just kidding about the wolves:>).  This is not a speed run so don't be shy.  You can do it and you know in your heart-of-hearts this is a good thing. Your therapist will support me on this one. 

Don't have a therapist? Neither do I, after all, who needs a therapist when you run, but if I did have a therapist, I expect he/she would ask me two questions, "how will you feel running under a full moon" and "how will you feel the day after a moonlight run?". Well, the answers are "I would feel wonderful and the after glow would radiate for days". Come join me.

The runs are about 6 to 10 kilometers and absolutely no runner will be left behind. Alain will post the location and other details of the run as the date approaches.  If the sky is clear you probably won't need a headlamp but bring one along just in case.  

2013 Full Moon Trail Run Schedule:

Saturday, January 26 in Assiniboine Forest.
Monday, February 25
Wednesday, March 27
Thursday, April 25
Friday, May 24
Sunday, June 23
Monday, July 22
Tuesday, August 20
Thursday, September 19
Friday, October 18
Sunday, November 17
Tuesday, December 17

For more information go here.

It's a good day to be alive, under a big old moon.